You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Nagaland Sports  >  Current Article

Hornbill half marathon held

By   /  December 3, 2017  /  Comments Off on Hornbill half marathon held

    Print       Email

I. Mosa, Shyamali Singh emerge champions

Kohima, Dec. 3 (EMN): I. Mosa produced the best record ever in the history of the Hornbill Half Marathon to take the title in men’s category at the 7th Hornbill Half Marathon held in Kohima on Sunday.
He clocked the best course record with 1 hr 8 minutes 54 seconds covering a distance of 21.0975 km. In the women category (21 km), Syamali Singh of West Bengal emerged the champion. The 2015 winner completed her track in 1 hr 28 minutes to claim the first position.
The 7th Hornbill Half Marathon was organised by 3E Nagaland as part of the annual Hornbill Festival.
The starting point of the race was New Secretariat, via High School junction – IG Stadium – High Court junction – Army Camp, Tsiesema – back to High Court junction – Kohima DEO junction and ended at New Secretariat.
I. Mosa created history in the hornbill marathon as he managed to beat last year record by 3 seconds that was recorded at 1:08:56 clocked by Pache Khiam.
In men’s category, two times defending champions Pache Khiam failed to beat his own record as he slipped to second position recording 1 hr 10minutes 19 seconds to complete the track. Mhasekho Shijoy (1:10:34) bagged the third position and fourth position by Litemo Lotha (1: 11:50). The top four winners in men’s category received a cash award of INR. 50, 000, INR. 20,000, INR. 10,000 and INR. 5000 respectively.
While for women’s category, Tsuchoi T. (1:37:42) came in third position and Mary Chuzho (1. 58:42) in third position. The top three winners in women’s category also received a cash award of INR. 50,000, INR. 20,000 and INR. 10,000 respectively.
All top 10 runners in each category were given merit-cum-timing certificates while all runners who completed the race also received completion certificates.
The full list of top runners in order of merit:
I. Mosa. (1:08:54)
Pache Khiam (1:10:19)
Mhasekho Shitjoy (1:10:34)
Litemo Lotha (1:11:50)
Kamal Singh (1:11:59)
M. Nokching (1:12:52)
N. Puchong Khiam (1:13:23)
Cuvoto Medeo (1:13:51)
Sarad Singh (1:14:16)
M. Hempo Khiam (1:14:30)
Women’s category
Shyamali Singh (1:28.00
Tsuchoi T. (1:37:42)
Mary Chuzho (1:58:42)
Loziia (2:22:56)
Wecheteu (2: 29:14)

    Print       Email

You might also like...

China Open: Sindhu crashes out, Satwik loses both doubles match

Read More →
%d bloggers like this: