You are here:  Home  >  News  >  Region  >  Current Article

Political parties in Manipur gear up for Lok Sabha polls

By   /  March 14, 2019  /  Comments Off on Political parties in Manipur gear up for Lok Sabha polls

    Print       Email

Our correspondent

Imphal, March 14 (EMN): With the announcement of the date for the 17th Lok Sabha polls, leaders of national political parties have lined up to take part in the election campaigns to woo the voters for their respective party candidates in Manipur.

As part of his visit to north-eastern states, Congress President Rahul Gandhi is scheduled to arrive in Imphal on March 20, sources from the party said.

Manipur will go to polls on April 11 and April 18.

Election to the outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency (ST) which comprises 28 assembly constituencies including eight valley constituencies will be held on April 11 while the inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency comprising 32 assembly constituencies will go to polls on April 18.

Though there is no report of finalising the programme for the visit of the Congress president to the state, Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (I) officials have started necessary preparation.

On the other hand the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) state unit has also invited their national leaders including the Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the poll campaigns on March 30.

The party is also expecting arrival of the BJP National President Amit Shah on April 9 for the campaign. Union ministers including Niramala Sitharaman are also likely to attend the poll campaign in the state, the party officials said.

So far around 16 aspiring candidates including some prominent faces in political arena of Manipur are seeking BJP ticket for the upcoming inner Manipur parliamentary constituency while around 10 candidates for the outer constituency.

Seven individuals have applied for Congress ticket in outer Manipur parliamentary constituency while nine persons are vying for the party’s ticket in Inner Manipur parliamentary constituency.

Those who have applied for Congress ticket in outer Manipur constituency are Tongmang Haokip, W Lalkholam Hangshing, KS Ngaite, T Zangkhomang Haokip, Sword Vashum, John Manglianthang Zou and K James.

The contenders for Congress ticket in inner Manipur constituency are former MLAs Dr. Ng Bijoy, O Joy, I Hemochandra, sitting MP Dr. T Meinya, former chief secretary O Nabakishore, N Bupendra, S Manaobi alias Khoiranthaba, K Saratchandra and M Bishwarjit. Among them 31-year Bupendra is the youngest applicant for the congress ticket in inner Manipur parliamentary constituency.

    Print       Email
  • Published: 2 months ago on March 14, 2019
  • By:
  • Last Modified: March 14, 2019 @ 10:55 pm
  • Filed Under: Region

You might also like...

FAW outbreak: INR 20 cr. maize crop damaged in Mizoram

Read More →
%d bloggers like this: