You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Nagaland Sports  >  Current Article

Loyem Memorial Trophy underway in Tuensang

By   /  October 10, 2018  /  Comments Off on Loyem Memorial Trophy underway in Tuensang

    Print       Email

Players of Sangzi FC and Pisgah United FC in action during a match of the ongoing Loyem Memorial Trophy at the Loyem memorial ground, in Tuensang on Wed. Oct. 10.

Eastern Mirror Desk

Dimapur, Oct. 10: The 26th edition of Loyem Memorial Senior Soccer Open Championship organised by the Confederation of Chang Students’ Union (CCSU) got underway at the Loyem Memorial ground in Tuensang on Wed. Oct. 10.

The sports secretary of CCSU, Allen Chang told Eastern Mirror that the previous champions, Sangzi FC played the opening match against Pisgah United FC.  He informed that Sangzi FC proved victorious in the maiden match of this year’s edition.

The first goal of the tournament was scored by Johnny in the 9th minute of the first half. The defending champion, Sangzi FC cruised comfortably by winning with a margin of 4-1 with Johnny scoring another goal in the 53rd minute. The remaining goals were scored by Benjamin and Likokmong. The only goal for Pisgah United was scored by Menya.

During the opening ceremony, special guest Alemtemshi Jamir (IAS) CEO, Investment and Development Authority of Nagaland (IDAN) recalled his school days, 48 years ago in Government Higher Secondary School, Tuensang. Comparing the improvement in Loyem Memorial ground, he congratulated the CCSU and the organising committee for its achievement.

“The CCSU and the organising committee generating INR 23 lakhs to improve Loyem Memorial Ground with no help from the government is an achievement,” he said.

He concluded by giving assurance to financially help in making Loyem Memorial Ground of high standard.

The media in charge of CCSU, Moses informed that this year’s cash prize for the championship is as follows: Champions will receive a sum of INR 2, 10,000 with trophy, runners-up will receive INR 1, 10,000. A sum of INR 25,000 will be awarded to the losing semi-finalists. A cash prize of INR 10,000 each will be awarded for the Golden Boot, Golden Ball and Golden Glove respectively whereas INR 15,000 will be awarded to the most promising team.

    Print       Email

You might also like...

Shikhar Dhawan ruled out of WC; Pant to replace opener

Read More →
%d bloggers like this: