You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Nagaland Sports  >  Current Article

Khriekesa FC are champions of KTC Cup 2017

By   /  September 9, 2017  /  Comments Off on Khriekesa FC are champions of KTC Cup 2017

    Print       Email

Kohima, Sep. 9 (EMN): Khriekesa FC beat New Market FC 2-1 in the final match to emerge as the champions of the first KTC Cup 2017 at the Kohima local ground on Saturday. The tournament was organised by Kohima Town Club.
The KTC Cup champions Khriekesa FC received a cash prize of Rs. 30, 000/- along with trophy and certificates, while runners up New Market FC walked home with Rs. 20, 000/- along with trophy and certificates. Both the cash prizes were sponsored by Dr. Neikiesalie Nicky Kire, Minister for Roads & Bridges.
New Market FC slumped into another disappointing defeat as they ended up runner up again. New Market FC’s last major title came in 2006 when they lifted the Sekrenyi League trophy that means the hunt for trophy continues.
During the match, the first half was dominated with ball domination in the midfield area from both sides but failed to create much chances that resulted in a goalless draw.
With the introduction of the second half, New Market FC team came back stronger and started the counter attack; Achamo Shitio with his brilliance edge passed the defenders and latched a low cross as Keyidwasaplung slotted the ball into the net to give the lead for New Market in the 59th minute.
But the lead was cut short within 7 minutes as Khriekesa FC equalised the score through skipper Yhunshalo Kemp from a penalty. In the making, the defender conceded a penalty for a handball inside the area and the referee awarded a penalty where the captain converted the spot kick.
The match almost went to New Market when Keyidwasaplung hit the woodwork in the 72 minute; however the match ended 1-1 in the stipulated time.
Playing the 15 minutes extra time, the foggy ground played spoilsports as both side failed to create chances. When the match was about to proceed for a penalty shootout, Khriekesa FC scored the much needed goal with two minutes remaining as the team seized the opportunity to fire a goal home through Neiphrezolie Usou after the defenders failed to clear the ball inside the area.
His goal proved to be the winning goal as Khriekesa FC held on till the final whistle to win the match.
Rhitso Mero, Stephen Rutsa , Achamo Shitio of New Market FC were cautioned with a yellow card each during the match.
Earlier the guest of honor, Dr. Neikiesalie Nicky Kire, Minister for Roads & Bridges in his short address lauded the initiative of KTC for organising the league match stating that league matches are very important for players in building up their skills.
Dr. Nicky pointed out that the player’s play only for the tournament’s sake which in the long run will not let the players anywhere and lamented that many footballers in the state competes in the tournaments with a couple of week’s practice before the tournament and Dr. Nicky requested the players to keep practicing throughout the year in order to get better grip in the game.
Meanwhile Zeikezou SC who emerged as the champions of the Kohima Football League 2017 lifted the trophy during the prize distribution ceremony on Saturday.
Ziekezuo SC received a cash prize of Rs. 80,000/- along with the running trophy sponsored by Mhasimhalie Mathew Yhome, Gen Secy NAYO, medals, and certificates. While the runners up New Market FC walked home with Rs 50,000 along with the medals and certificates.
Both the cash prizes were sponsored by Dr. Neikiesalie Nicky Kire, Minister for Roads & Bridges.
Kohima Football League 2017 (Individual awards)a) Best Goalkeeper – Medophrezo Kezieo of Khriekesa FC
b) Best Defender – Kevizapu Lhoungu of Ziekezou SC
c) Best Midfielder – Nyithong Magh of Power Comm FC
d) Highest Goal Scorer – Chiziisii Nyusou of New Market FC
e) Player of the Tournament – Kajiikho Jonathan Koso of United 16 FC
f) Best Coach – Zakietuolie Khrodi of Ziekezou SC.
g) Best Fans Club – New Market FC
h) Best Discipline Team – Nagabazar FC

    Print       Email

You might also like...

Lukaku, Hazard power Belgium to brink of World Cup last 16

Read More →