You are here:  Home  >  News  >  Nagaland  >  Current Article

First hurdle crossed: Rio wins trust vote

By   /  March 13, 2018  /  Comments Off on First hurdle crossed: Rio wins trust vote

    Print       Email

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio casting his ballot for the election of the speaker on March 13.

Kohima Bureau
Kohima, March 13 (EMN): Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) on Tuesday won a trust vote in the Assembly with 33 out of 59 MLAs voting in his favour after he moved a motion of confidence in the House.
Barring the speaker, all 59 MLAs signed in a register to cast their vote for the motion moved by Rio to prove that the People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) government headed by him has majority in the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly.
Out of the 33 MLAs who voted in favour of the Rio-led PDA government, 17 were from NDPP, 12 from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), two from National People’s Party (NPP), one from Janata Dal (United) and one Independent MLA. The 26 others who voted against the motion were all from the Naga People’s Front (NPF).
Rio has officially assumed charge of chief minister for the fourth time on March 8 after being administered oath of office by Governor PB Acharya at a public swearing-in ceremony held in Khouchiezie Ground in Kohima. He had earlier served as chief minister from 2003-08, 2008-13 and from 2013-14, following which, he became a member of Lok Sabha. He resigned as MP February last to contest in the 2018 state assembly election. Rio won unopposed from the 11 Northern Angami-II Assembly Constituency under Kohima district, and subsequently staked his claim to form the government with the support of 34 legislators on March 4.
Under his leadership, newly registered NDPP had entered into a pre-poll seat sharing alliance with the BJP and contested in 40 of the 60-member assembly seats while the BJP fought in the remaining 20 seats. The NDPP won in 18 seats and the BJP in 12, while rival NPF won 26. Although none of the political parties made the requisite 31 figure for formation of government, the NDPP-BJP garnered support from one independent and one JD (U) candidate, and two from NPP, taking the number to 34 to form the new alliance government. Subsequently, Governor PB Acharya had appointed Rio as the chief minister on March 6, and had asked him to prove his majority on the floor of the House by March 16.

MLAs take oath

The first session of the 13th NLA commenced on Tuesday with the members of the new House taking oath/affirmation before the Protem Speaker Mmhonlumo Kikon. Following this, election of speaker and floor test were conducted.
After the completion of business listed for the day, speaker-elect Vikho-o Yhoshü adjourned the House till March 21. The budget session will continue from March 22 till 26th which would include address by governor, presentation of supplementary demand for grants for the year 2017- 2018, presentation of budget for 2018 – 2019 and presentation of CAG report.

    Print       Email

You might also like...

Congress makes strides in Hindi heartland; TRS and MNF win

Read More →