You are here:  Home  >  News  >  Nation  >  Current Article

Congress to contest 20 LS seats, JD-S 8 in Karnataka

By   /  March 14, 2019  /  Comments Off on Congress to contest 20 LS seats, JD-S 8 in Karnataka

    Print       Email

Bengaluru, March 13 (IANS): Karnataka’s ruling Congress-Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) coalition on Wednesday reached a seat-sharing agreement under which they will contest 20 and 8 Lok Sabha constituencies respectively.

“Congress and JD-S seat-sharing for Karnataka #LokSabhaPolls2019 is confirmed. 20 for Congress and 8 for JD-S,” state Congress President Dinesh Gundu Rao tweeted.

As per the pre-poll alliance between the two parties, the JD-S will contest from Uttara Kannada, Chikkamagaluru, Shivamogga, Tumakuru, Hassan, Mandya, Bengaluru North and Vijayapura Lok Sabha seats.

Congress will field its candidates from the remaining 20 seats — Chikkodi, Belagavi, Bagalkot, Haveri, Raichur, Kalaburagi, Bidar, Koppal, Ballari, Davanagere, Chitradurga, Dharwad, Dakshina Kannada, Mysuru, Chamarajanagar, Bengaluru Central, Bengaluru South, Bengaluru Rural, Kolar and Chikkaballapura.

JD-S supremo and former Prime Minister H.D. Deve Gowda had earlier demanded his party be given 10 of the state’s 28 Lok Sabha seats.

The seat-sharing agreement was finalised after a meeting between Congress President Rahul Gandhi and JD-S Secretary General Danish Ali in Kochi on Wednesday evening.

    Print       Email
  • Published: 2 months ago on March 14, 2019
  • By:
  • Last Modified: March 14, 2019 @ 2:01 am
  • Filed Under: Nation, Top News

You might also like...

Contract killer’s arrest: Delhi police grills gangster; yet to authenticate claims

Read More →
%d bloggers like this: